Home | Techie Talk | Story Time | About | Contact

Friday, March 26, 2010

Indian squad for ICC T20 World Cup

Members of the Indian Cricket team for the ICC T20 World Cup, that starts on coming April 30, were announced today. No big surprises in the squad. Fast bowler Vinay Kumar from Karnataka is the only new into the team. Spinner Piyush Chawla makes a come-back into the team.

The squad: MS Dhoni (capt & wk), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Yusuf Pathan, Dinesh Karthik, Ravindra Jadeja, Zaheer Khan, Praveen Kumar, Ashish Nehra, Harbhajan Singh, Piyush Chawla, Vinay Kumar, Rohit Sharma

Undoubtedly, its the batting form of Virender Sehwag that will decide our position in the tournament. If he gets into his best batting form, well we do have a bright chance to qualify for the semis. (South Africa is the other team in the group)

I am not sure, if Yuvraj Singh had completely cured from his injuries. He really seems to be like a lot rustled in the IPL (or may be he is not happy about his captaincy being removed) I feel Irfan Pathan would have been a better alternative. Also I feel, Misra would have been a better alternative for Chawla.

Considering the care and affection, our Srikanth had shown towards are tamilnadu players, I was afraid if they would pick Ashwin and Balaji for the world cup team. Thanks to their great performances in the recent IPL, this didn't happen.

Well, considering the injuries happening in this IPL, who knows this entire list might change when the IPL gets over. In that case, our Sachin, Dravid and Kumble will be requested to play the international T20.

Even then no Ganguly - for he will not accept the offer :-)

Labels: , ,


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home